Glucose Intolerant

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long overdue shower

I invited my neighbour from a few doors down over to try out my Roland TR8s. He's this quiet latino kid, maybe twenty five years old, and always wearing the same grey hooded sweatshirt and sweatpants. He was clearly proud of his outfit when he first got it, and perhaps still is, but it's now faded, loose and yellowing. That aside, he mentioned in passing that he was into making beats and was just using a Roland TR-505 his older brother left behind when he moved out, so I extended the invitation to come by and try some of my gear. At that moment I finally felt genuine regret for selling the Digitakt.

When he arrived I was pretty shocked to see Jordan Peterson tagging along with him. There was no introduction or explanation given - they both simply walked in. Jordan had brought along a guitar in a softshell bag and a small amp, and then pulled out a few pedals out from his shoulder bag and began patching everything together. I didn't even notice that my neighbour was already seated at a table and programming a track on the TR8s.

I asked them both if it would be alright if I set up my mixer and recorded what they were up to, regardless of what it was or if it went well together. I just thought a recording of them fiddling around would be an interesting artifact to have. They both gave me shrugs of indifferent approval and I immediately started pulling out all the cables and cords I needed. With both of them already playing, independently, and with headphones, it was hard to discern what was going on. Though, Jordan's strumming sounded pretty chaotic.

Before I finished setting everything up, there was a knock at the door so I went to answer it - Dan and Chloe had stopped by because my neighbour had invited them over to watch a movie. I didn't mind of course, but I was beginning to feel that my neighbour was taking a few too many liberties around my original invitation. They both walked in and headed to the room where everyone else was. Before I followed them in, I noticed that Jordan had left a big pile of stuff on the floor - some empty packaging from his headphones, receipts, some empty fast food bags and containers, and a sealed-in-box twelve inch Mad Max action figure. It was based on Tom Hardy's portrayal, but it had also been modified to be Colin Farrell from Total Recall. It was really well executed, except for the comically applied facial features, where the eyebrows and forehead lines had clearly been scribbled on with a Sharpie.

I had obviously spent far too long staring at that pile of stuff on the floor, because by the time I went to the other room, everyone was already halfway through watching some movie. However, it was playing on a TV set up in the closet so nobody could actually see the screen. With that, and the fact that there were no seats left, I figured I should probably just go and take a shower, which was long overdue.

9:50 a.m. - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stochastic
honeydale
crapolalola
summer-tang
romperstompr
narcissa
loudlikefuck
unresolved
and-then
antijamsect
hornyasswife
nictate
tindron0mel