Glucose Intolerant

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seeger, Segel and Seagal


Last night Michelle invited me out to a birthday party for her friend's daughter. It was at the flagship Denny's downtown that had just opened and was boasting about having three levels - the main floor served breakfast dishes, the second was focussed on lunch, and third floor for dinner fare, and each one had live entertainment and activities that thematically matched the menus.

I was told that none of the other guests had RSVP'd, which gave me the impression I was invited just to fill one of the many seats they had reserved on the top floor.

It was suggested we would all meet in the lobby and make our way upstairs while trying out the games and activities on each floor. However, I arrived late, and the host at the entrance told me that everyone had already made their way up. I was pointed to the escalators, which were at the opposite side of the building, beyond a maze of tables, all packed beyond capacity with people. There weren't even enough chairs at each table, so people ate standing up. The entertainment on the main floor was simply the audio from a cartoon television channel blasting at high volumes from speakers directly overhead at each table. This resulted in people screaming at one another to carry on conversations. The floors were covered in scrambled eggs and maple syrup. You could barely see the carpet underneath, and in some areas it looked like it was nearly a foot deep.

I found a service hallway that led directly to the escalators, sparing me from having to trudge through breakfast waste. When I reached the second "lunch floor" I was met with a queue of several hundred people. They were huddled in groups over menus, all deciding what meals to get. Apparently each table had to decide on a single meal to order, which would result in random groups erupting into arguments. I saw no point in making a stop on this floor and kept making my way up.

Riding the second escalator, the environment became quieter, and the lighting dimmer. The walls were covered in maroon velvet, and there were placards promoting upcoming events. The following week they were hosting a debate between Steven Seagal and Jason Segel. Though, there was no mention of what they were going to be debating.

Finally reaching the third floor and looking around - what was essentially a concert venue with randomly placed tables and chairs - I couldn't see Michelle and her party anywhere. I walked back and forth a few times until an usher told me I had to take a seat.

The entertainment that night was Pete Seeger, but only singing James Taylor songs, while a troupe of hologram dancers performed choreographed routines around him. Seeger barely knew the lyrics or music to any of Taylor's songs. It was horrible and embarrassing to watch.

2:19 p.m. - Saturday, Apr. 16, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stochastic
honeydale
crapolalola
summer-tang
romperstompr
narcissa
loudlikefuck
unresolved
and-then
antijamsect
hornyasswife
nictate
tindron0mel